AJI-NO-MOTO® Umami seasoning is a world renowned brand for Monosodium Glutamate (MSG). AJI-NO-MOTO® makes food taste better with a little dash added before, during or after cooking which bring out the full flavour of any dishes.
AJI-NO-MOTO® is widely used not only by homemakers to enhance the taste of any dishes but also by hawkers and professional chefs in restaurants all over the world. It is also added into variety of processed foods, frozen foods, soups, snacks, instant noodles, etc.
Why AJI-NO-MOTO does not have the expiry date?
- MSG is a food additive under the Malaysian Food Act 1983 and Regulations.
- It is not part of the list of food that requires the display of expiry dates on the packaging.
- MSG is stable as sugar or salt and can be kept for a longer period without affecting its appearance and taste (AJI-NO-MOTO® is a food additive with more than 18 months shelf life).
(FOOD ACT; Part 3; Section 14; Sub-regulation 4) (pp. 67, 238)
Why AJI-NO-MOTO does not have a "vegetarian" logo?
AJI-NO-MOTO® does not have a “vegetarian” logo as the product is targeted to the general public of all races with all types of dietary backgrounds (including Vegetarians). We do not specifically mention that it is suitable for vegetarians to prevent the misconception that product is limited to certain consumer groups. Furthermore, the ingredients are natural, hence it is not necessary to highlight that it is suitable for vegetarian.
Can you please advise if there are any allergens present in the AJI-NO-MOTO®?
There are no allergens present in AJI-NO-MOTO® as it is produced and packed in a production plant that only caters to MSG production.
Why has the SIRIM logo been removed from the packaging?
It is a package design strategy to focus on the key messages, which are the HALAL logo and net weight.
Is AJI-NO-MOTO® Halal?
Yes, AJI-NO-MOTO® manufactured by Ajinomoto (M) Berhad is Halal certified by the Islamic Development Department of Malaysia (JAKIM).
Is AJI-NO-MOTO® suitable for vegetarians? Does it contain animal-based ingredients?
AJI-NO-MOTO® is produced through the fermentation of carbohydrates from naturally cultivated tapioca or sugar cane, hence it contains no animal-based ingredients. This makes AJI-NO-MOTO® vegetarian-friendly.
TVC & Informational Videos
Pak AJI Kata Campur, Campur, Siap!
AJI-NO-MOTO® Campur, Campur , Siap! – What’s your favorite food
AJI-NO-MOTO® Production Animation
“Campur, Campur, Siap!” Music video
All You Should Know About AJI-NO-MOTO®
The Aim That Leads to the Discovery of Umami & The Birth of AJI-NO-MOTO®
Prof. Kikunae Ikeda, a Japanese scientist who furthers his studies in Germany was amazed by the excellent physique and diet of the Germans. He belief diet is one of the factors and that stimulates his aim to improve the Japanese diet. With the aim, the Umami discovery begin in 1908 when Prof. Ikeda discovered a distinct taste which is different from sweet, sour, bitter and salty from a Kombu dashi broth. He named the taste as Umami and he worked together with Saburosuke Suzuki II who shared the same dream as Ikeda. On 1909, AJI-NO-MOTO® was officially launched by Saburosuke Suzuki II, as the world first Umami seasoning that carries the philosophy and aim of, “Eat Well, Live Well”. (Full Story)
Tips On When To Add In AJI-NO-MOTO®
AJI-NO-MOTO® is odourless and heat resistant therefore, it is suitable to use in any kind dishes during any process of cooking: